Mini Fruit Pizzas

This next recipe and picture (didn’t get a chance to take one myself) is from Pillsbury. It’s such an easy recipe and looks like a lot of time was put into preparing it! When I made this recipe, I did make a few changes that I will probably do every time. I’ll go ahead and post the original recipe, and then below it I will add the little changes I made.

INGREDIENTS

1 (18-oz.) pkg. (20 cookies) Pillsbury® Ready to Bake!™ Refrigerated Sugar Cookies*
1 (8-oz.) pkg. cream cheese, softened
2 tablespoons frozen limeade concentrate, thawed*
1/2 cup powdered sugar
10 fresh strawberries, quartered
1 kiwi fruit, peeled, cut in half lengthwise and cut into 10 slices
1/2 cup fresh blueberries
1/2 cup fresh raspberries

DIRECTIONS

1. Bake cookies as directed on package. Cool 10 minutes or until completely cooled.

2. Meanwhile, in medium bowl, combine cream cheese, limeade concentrate and powdered sugar; beat until smooth.

3. Spread each cooled cookie with 1 tablespoon cream cheese mixture. Arrange fruit on top of each. Serve immediately, or cover and refrigerate up to 2 hours.

*So, basically the first change I made was using a tube of sugar cookie dough instead of the ready to bake package. I did this because I wanted my pizzas a little bigger. I rolled out the dough and used an extra large biscuit cutter to make my pizza “crust.” Depending on how large your cookie cutter is, you may need to add some baking time to your cookies. I know I had to.

*My next change I made was substituting the 2 T limeade concentrate for 1 T lemon juice. I actually had limeade concentrate in my freezer, but I really didn’t want to open the whole thing just for 2 tablespoons! This turned out perfectly fine, and I bet there wasn’t even that big of a difference in the taste.

*The last change I made was drizzle chocolate over the top. I just melted semi sweet chocolate chips and white chocolate chips in two separate ziploc bags- cut a little of the tip off- and then drizzled both chocolates over each pizza. This adds a nice finishing touch when you are making it for a special occasion. After all, everything is better with chocolate- right?!

August 5, 2011. Desserts.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

