Chocolate Scotcheroos

I must start this post off by saying that I am one of those spoiled housewives with a double oven. I absolutely love having it, and I seem to always be finding ways to use them both! They are awesome!

OK, now to reality…

A few months ago, something went wrong with my top oven and it quit working. We eventually called a repair guy and he said we would need to cut a whole in the ceiling to get to the wires and then he’d come back- since my awesome oven is also built in.

Well, a few months later my other oven locks up on me. Now I don’t have either oven working! 😦 We finally cut the whole in the ceiling and had the repair guy come back- only to find out that he didn’t want to mess with it now. He recommended me to work straight with the manufacturer. UGH!

So… All that to say, I’ve been weeks without an oven! But hey- it HAS BEEN really hot (weather wise) and I’ve seemed to manage just fine- just another excuse for ordering out when I don’t feel like cooking πŸ™‚

Anyways, this next recipe was on the Rice Krispies cereal box AND no oven required! πŸ™‚

  • 1 cup light corn syrup
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 6 cups Rice Krispies cereal
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips

Place corn syrup and sugar into a 3 quart saucepan.

Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently, until sugar dissolves and mixture begins to boil.Remove from heat. Stir in peanut butter. Mix well.

Add cereal and stir until well coated. Press into a greased 13 x 9 inch pan or (if you want thick ones like my picture) a 9 x 9 inch pan. Melt chocolate and butterscotch chips together. Spread evenly over cereal mixture. Let stand until firm. Cut into bars and enjoy!

I have to say that there were only 5 bars left when I took this picture. I had to ask my family to stop eating them so that I could take a picture! Yes, they were that good! πŸ™‚

June 8, 2011. Desserts.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

