Baked Oatmeal

Have I mentioned that I love allrecipes.com? Well, once again this website is a go-to for a new recipe. Over Easter, I had my parents as house guests. We only had two mornings where I actually had to make something for breakfast, but I decided to try something new for one of those mornings. On my ‘all recipes I want to try’ list is a recipe for baked oatmeal.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  • milk and fresh berries for topping

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, mix together oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt. Beat in milk, eggs, melted butter, and vanilla extract. Stir in dried cranberries. Spread into a 9×13 inch baking dish.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes.
For 4 people, I cut the recipe in half and I used fresh raspberries for the topping. I loved the raspberries on top, but I think blueberries would compliment it as well. This recipe turned out really well, and this picture is actually from the second time of making it- I didn’t have a chance to take a picture the first time! This is a really simple recipe to throw together in the morning.
April 27, 2011. Breakfast/ Brunch.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

