Skillet Cornbread

I’m sure most of you have heard of Ree Drummond, “The Pioneer Women”. Well, with my ever growing list of ‘cookbooks I want,’ I finally got “The Pioneer Woman Cooks” for Valentine’s Day. There are already quite a few things I want to make out of the cookbook, but I must pace myself. My little family can only handle so much food in the house without letting it go to waste. The first recipe I’m going to try from this cookbook is a traditional skillet cornbread. That’s right! Get your cast iron skillets out.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Yellow Cornmeal
  • ½ cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
  • 1 cup Buttermilk
  • ½ cups Milk
  • 1 whole Egg
  • ½ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • ¼ cups Shortening- I used butter
  • 2 Tablespoons Shortening- I used butter here as well

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Combine cornmeal, flour, salt, and baking powder in a bowl. Stir together.

Measure the buttermilk and milk in a measuring cup and add the egg. Stir together with a fork. Add the baking soda and stir.

Pour the milk mixture into the dry ingredients. Stir with a fork until combined.

In a small bowl, melt 1/4 shortening. Slowly add melted shortening to the batter, stirring until just combined. In an iron skillet, melt the remaining 2 tablespoons shortening over medium heat. Pour the batter into the hot skillet. Spread to even out the surface. (Batter should sizzle.)

Cook on stovetop for 1 minute, then bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown.

 

The only alteration I made to this recipe was replacing butter in place of the shortening. I’m sure either way would turn out great, but I LOVE the taste of butter.

 

February 25, 2011. Breads.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

